Collazo notches unusual stoppage of Vayson to retain unified 105 title
Calls for further unification bouts; G. Fundora demolishes Kubicki to retain women's undisputed flyweight crown
A note to Fight Freaks Unite readers: I created Fight Freaks Unite in January 2021 and eight months later it also became available for paid subscriptions for additional content — and as a way to help keep this newsletter going and for readers to support independent journalism. If you haven’t upgraded to a paid subscription please consider it. If you have already, I truly appreciate it! Also, consider a gift subscription for the Fight Freak in your life.
Oscar Collazo was winning the fight but found himself locked in a rugged battle with Jayson Vayson in the seventh round on Saturday night when Vayson’s corner inexplicably threw in the towel at Fantasy Springs Resort Casino in Indio, California.
The stunning decision brought to a sudden end the main event of the Golden Boy card on DAZN as Collazo retained the unified WBO and WBA strawweight belts and The Ring magazine title.
Collazo was ahead 59-54 on all three scorecards at the time of the stoppage but Vayson, in his first world title fight, was competing hard, had hurt Collazo and the rounds were competitive.
In the seventh round, Collazo tagged him with a right to the body but was not doling out any significant punishment nor did Vayson seem at all hurt, dazed or in any trouble other than he had backed toward the ropes when his corner suddenly threw in the towel, causing referee Thomas Taylor to wave it off at 1 minute, 41 seconds.


